Excited

1. ej19 Initiate Member

Just found a great new family run aqua./reptile store this weekend. Super knowledgable and friendly staff. I did feel like I was being "sold" a bit. Honestly I'm just starting out and don't think I need to spend $300 on lighting right this second. They did manage to snipe $250 from me tho haha. In the process of starting up my new 55g. I can't believe I fooled myself into thinking this was going to be inexpensive, silly me. Just finished up adding my little piece of drift wood to my 5g betta tank and rearranging a bit. Can't believe my next project is going to be 11x as big! Everything looks great in my head so far haha. I hope I can pull something awesome out. If anyone has any random aquascaping tips I would more than appreciate them. I'm fully going trial and error here.....plus whatever the Internet tells me.... But everything I see is way too over my head! Anyways long post I'm just super excited to get my hands wet!

2. Chunk101 Well Known Member Member

Congratulations on your first 55g! :;hf
    It IS exciting and a little nerve racking to get your first big tank.

Don't really have aquascaping tips for you but do have some basic tips for beginners (myself included), that seem like good strategies to setting up a tank. I apologize in advance if you are already aware of these things.

The first idea is to pick fish that are adapted to waters that are similar to your water source. i.e if you have hard water don't pick species that are adapted for soft water. You don't HAVE to do this but it makes things easier especially if you don't want to play around with your water parameters. (unless you enjoy doing that)

The second idea is to pick fish that are suited to your tank size.

The third is if you plan to have a community tank, make sure the fish are compatible.

These are the things that are coming to the top of my head and I'm sure I forgot something crucial.

Anyway, have fun and good luck!

3. Dolfan Fishlore VIP Member