Exasperated With Water Parameters

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Nefersmum, Aug 4, 2019.

1. Nefersmum

NefersmumValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +66
    I'm not sure what is going on with my water parameters but I'm hoping for some advice.

I have a 90 l with 12 wc and Gold Mountain minnows and latterly 2 x nerite snails.

On Tuesday I tested the water parameters prior to a water change and found the ammonia to have made an unpleasant appearance - not high 0.5 - but definitely unwelcome with nitrites at 0 and nitrates at 20 so I did a big water change of around 45%. Checked the water on Friday and all was well, Ammonia back to 0, 0 nitrites and Nitrates 20. I did a small water change which I routinely do on a Friday.

I tested again tonight and again the ammonia is up to 0.5, Nitrites 0 and nitrates 20.

I'm new to this water testing malarky so I'm not sure if this kind of rise and fall is normal.

I'd be glad of any words of wisdom/reassurance from more knowledgeable souls.

2. Heron

HeronValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +194
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    It sounds like something is upsetting your cycle. Don't worry it's not broken it just not right. Is your filter overworked? What media are you using? Are the ammonia readings higher soon after a water change? If so you may have ammonia in your tap water, to check fill a container with tap water, let it stand a couple of hours then test it. Don't test water straight out the tap it always gives weird results.

3. OP
    OP
    Nefersmum

Ratings:
    +66