Everything you need to know about fertilizers in one place

Bhuij

When I decided a few weeks ago to dive into the world of live plants in my tropical freshwater aquarium, it took me a lot of research to learn how to make the conversion from my already-established, non-planted aquarium. Among the most confusing parts was fertilizers. I had a lot of questions and spent many hours researching, including making some unnecessary purchases at my LFS before I finally felt educated enough to make a solid informed decision about how best to approach the issue in my own tank.

I wanted to write up a summary of my findings in a format that could hopefully save people some time and confusion. Much of my information came from the helpful folks on this very forum. I’m far from an expert, having switched to a planted tank in early May of 2016, so if any of my information is bad, I hope the more experienced aquarists will help correct me so I can update this post.

Here’s a list of the questions I had when I first started thinking about fertilizers, and the best answers I’ve found so far.

1. I have plants, do I need fertilizers?
  2. Which fertilizers should I buy?
  3. How much fertilizer do I use?
  4. Will fertilizers hurt my fish/shrimp/snails?
  5. Do I need roots tabs or liquid ferts?
  6. What about “Excel?”

Before I start answering these, a super quick overview of plants in general will be helpful I think.

All aquarium plants need three things to survive: light, carbon, and nutrients. Light is a whole ‘nother topic, but generally, there are three basic “categories” of planted tanks: low light, medium light, and high light. Some plants do fine in low light, but many do better in medium or high light.