European eel care??

Flounderman553
hey looking for anyone with good knowledge on large eels I work at an exotic aquarium store and someone had brought in a very unusual specimen a European eel he is currently 1 foot long and is not aggressive towards people. I’m worried that I’ll won’t be able to keep it healthy though because I don’t know the first thing about an eel like this I can’t get it to way either I’ve tried everything minnows, feeder guppies, goldfish, prawns, ghost shrimp, clams, crab meat, and even small frogs to no avail if anyone has any info on how their raised in captivity I would highly appreciate some info I would be really sad to loose such an usual visitor

Fahn
Was it a wild-caught specimen?

Flounderman553
Fahn said:
Was it a wild-caught specimen?
No idea it was traded in by someone so I have no knowledge on its background
All I’ve heard on this traded in eels background is it was possibly an illegal import that he had gotten from somewhere else and I guess he couldn’t care for it so he just dropped the poor thing off in a Home Depot bucket in front of my store I’ve done everything I can to make him comfortable I’ve used one of our 120 gallon tanks and made a slightly brackish aquarium that has a rock set up similar to what I do for my moray eels. He’s very well behaved. Tends not to go after me even if I clean his tank unlike my more aggressive moray eels. I’ve got a picture below

Fahn
I know in my limited experience with morays, they stress easily and may not eat for a week or two once they are stressed. A snowflake eel somebody traded in at the store I used to work at regurgitated the shrimp it was fed and refused to eat for me. It wasn't until a few weeks later after I transferred it to our other store that it seemed to be doing well.

Zach72202