Ethics Of Fish Keeping. General Discussion

Do you have ethical concerns about the hobbyist fish keeping industry?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Mendellen

So this theme has come up in other topics on fishlore but I think a general conversation about ethical issues within the aquarium trade may be interesting. What kind of moral dilemmas cause you hesitation or reflection about how you practice the hobby and how do you respond to them? How can the industry address these concerns?

Some personal background... I am an architecture student in a small city with over 300 regional lakes where I have lived most of my life. As this environment has become a part of who I am, my final thesis will be centered around the theoretical creation of a lakeside public aquarium with (freshwater) regional exhibits which will be used to educate visitors about the impacts of human activities on aquatic ecosystems. Ideally, the filtration system, if possible, would be used to help filter the lake water which has been contaminated by sulfur, heavy metals, excess phosphates and sodium chloride from industrial activities and urban development.

So anyway... as the thesis will be a public-centered project and it also aligns with my personal interest in fish keeping I thought I'd try to generate some discussion with you good folks who are involved in the hobby/trade. Thanks...

Thunder_o_b

My concern is with the big market pet industry as a whole. The fish and others are nothing more than lures to get people to buy support equipment. Their lives are not even an after thought to the powers at the top.

There are however very good people at ground level. Today I was actually asked what size aquarium and tank mates the 4 tiny angels I wanted to buy would be in/with. She had not delt with me before (the others in the store have known me for a long time. I thanked her for asking and she said that she will not sell a fish that she thinks is going in a bad setting. BRAVO!!!!!