Equipment Help

1. Sxusie

Sxusie Valued Member Member

I will soon be getting a 13 gallon tank and later on, hopefully a school of small corys or neon tetras. I am a complete beginner so have no idea at all what equipment I need and what to do with said equipment. Do you have any suggestions?

2. meyowmeow

meyowmeow Valued Member Member

Welcome to the wonderful world of fish keeping! What are the dimensions of the tank you are considering? Once I know what it looks like I can help more :)

3. OP
    OP
    Sxusie

its about 28 inches long, 12 high and 12 wide

4. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

I would take a read through the stickies and articles on this site - they have a lot of helpful info!

5. Neptune334

Neptune334 Valued Member Member

Hello! I know that bit can be overwhelming to know what to buy and what to do, but I am sure that everyone here will love to help you. Here are some things you will need as well as why you might need them.
    A Hood/Lid- You will need a hood to prevent evaporation and keep your fish from jumping to their death.
    Lights- If you are planning on having a planted aquarium, you will need some really strong lights to support your plants. If not, most lights and hoods available in stores will be sufficient for viewing your fish.
    Filter- One of the most important parts of your aquarium is the filter. It will hold the beneficial bacteria and media that will make your aquarium a healthy environment. For a tank of this size, I would recommend an hang-on-back filter. A recommended brand of filters are Fluval AquaClears.
    Heater- If you are keeping tropical fish such as tetras, you will need to keep your aquarium warm. You will want an adjustable heater to do this. A recommended brand of heaters are the Aqueon Pro series.