Endler looking a little bloated--how to catch the darn thing

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by Colorado, Dec 13, 2012.

1. Colorado

Colorado Valued Member Member

So I've got 4 little Endlers in a 56 gallon. It's a new tank so there are plants, but just the 4 fish. One's looking a little pale and I think a little distended. I'm very new to the hobby so I don't have much to compare it to. I've got a small quarantine tank all set up, but I can't catch the fish.

So, oh gurus of the aquarium, what are your tips and tricks for catching a 3/4 of inch fish in 56 gallons of water without uprooting every plant or scaring all the fish to death. I tried to catch this guy for 30 minutes and stopped because I thought that I would stress him to death even if he isn't already sick.

Suggestions? At this point, I think I'd have more luck just whistling and seeing if he turns himself in.

thanks!!

2. fishaddiction

fishaddiction Valued Member Member

First off did you do the nitrogen cycle? If not that's your answer also what are your water conditions so if you want to get another fish you don't want the same issue. Finally I had the issue of catching 3 centimeter fish in a heavily planted 20 gallon I had to dip every plant in my path to get him. But if you don't want to go through the trouble of ripping all the plants out of your tank check the water it may be ammonia then they sell things to treat it and then your fish should be all better.

3. OP
    OP
    Colorado

The numbers are all fine. I am doing a fish-in cycle, but I check constantly. I'm actually waiting to put in the Tetra Safestart because the numbers are still 0 and I don't think the bacteria would even have anything to feed off of. The bioload of the Endlers is so small in that tank. And I just did a PWC with Prime. Would ammonia cause bloating?

4. Jaysee

Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to the forum