EmmaH's first saltwater tank

EmmaH

Well I went into Petsmart the other day for some fish food, and walked out with a 40b! Go figure, darn you MTS!! I decided to dive into the world of saltwater tanks. I have a fair amount of experience with freshwater, not that I'm a big expert, but I'm hoping it'll help a bit. I'm thinking a very basic reef with softies, and fish. I've been doing a lot of research, but there's a so much info to digest!!

Today I put together the stand and got the tank on top of it.
I have:
Substrate-40 lbs of Caribsea Arag-alive Bahamas oolite sand. I really liked the color, but now I'm worrying it may be too fine grained? Has anyone used this sand? Or know any issues with it?
Lights-36-48in orbit marine LED saltwater lighting system.
Salt-instant ocean
40g storage tub to mix saltwater

I still need:
Powerheads-any suggestions? I was thinking 2 Tunze 6015s?
Heater-Eheim Jager 100w?
40lb of live rock, probably going to purchase from LFS
Protien skimmer-still trying to decide if I want one. I've heard with a tank this small they aren't necessary. If I was to go with one I'm thinking the Reef Octopus bh1000? Need a HOB because I'm not going to be running a sump.
RO/DI system-probably going to wait on this one since I can get the water at my LFS.

This is going to be a long process, but I'm so excited!!! I'll keep this thread updated as much as possible. Please anyone who has any advice for this noob, please feel free to give it!

jessakitten

I started mine 2 weeks ago. rock, sand, salt water and a filter, and a light of course. still cycling. I only check it once a week since if I do daily, ill get really impatient. fishless cycle. ill be ready to do something further mid oct by my best guestimation.

EmmaH

Thanks for the reply! I gotta agree with you there, I'm impatient too. Having the tank just empty is driving me nuts! Are you using any powerheads?

TikiBird