Emergency water help needed

slowdown

I have maybe 7 years' experience with freshwater fish so I have an idea of what I'm doing, but have not faced this before. I had a 20L aquarium going for some years and then set it aside and only used my 55. I recently decided to get the 20 up and going again. Used filter media from the 55, got water into it, let it run a couple weeks, watched water parameters (API kit), everything looked good - nitrates present, no nitrites or ammonia. I ordered new fish - Cory's and white minnows - they are due to arrive TODAY.

I just rechecked my water and was shocked at the results: ammonia near 2.0, nitrites 0.5, nitrates around 60. I have no idea what happened. I've done nothing over the past week besides add plants and a heater (which was in the other tank until 2 days ago).

Is it re-cycling? What do I do with the fish that are due to arrive in 2 hours? Help please...
(The 55 is lightly stocked with a couple rainbow fish, a lot of rasboras, about 10 black/white skirt tetras, a few emerald cories - I could put them in there but didn't know if different cories can mix, and if nano fish (the white cloud minnows) can be in with the rest).

BradleyH2O

I was told that heat is pretty important to cycling the tank. The colder it is, the slower the cycle and warmer water will cycle faster. There is water conditioner that will detoxify your water. I prefer Fritz complete, because it’s Made in the USA, but a lot of people use Seachem Prime

What is your pH level?

You can also fill out a Nitrogen cycle template.

slowdown

I was told that heat is pretty important to cycling the tank. The colder it is, the slower the cycle and warmer water will cycle faster. There is water conditioner that will detoxify your water. I prefer Fritz complete, because it’s Made in the USA, but a lot of people use Seachem Prime

What is your pH level?

You can also fill out a Nitrogen cycle template.