Electric Blue Rams

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Emze17, Jun 5, 2016.

1. Emze17

Emze17Valued MemberMember

Hi,

For a few months I have been eyeing up Electric Blue Rams that are in stock at my LFS. As I've no experience with them I decided against stocking them in my 26 gallon. However I'll never gain the experience unless I try. That said, I'm not and won't just go throwing them in...

I understand these aren't considered a beginner fish, and while they're not difficult to care for, they're not easy either.

Currently I have a 26gallon which is currently home to 9 neon tetras, 9 panda corydora (4 of them rather small) and 1 male BN plec.

My understanding from what i've read up is that Rams should be OK with Corys and the BN but the tetras are a no no - is this correct?

Also I understand that my tank is fully stocked as is stands, but a friend of mine has offered to take in my neons (she's a 30g which is home to neons only).

Can a Rams water temperature and living conditions match that of the Corys and BN? The tank is 25celcius and has fast moving water.

Without the neons I believe I should be able to stock a Ram or 2....?

Should I get 2 Rams (or more for them to pair up) or would 1 on it's own be OK? I ask this as I've read that if I happen to get 2 males this could cause all sorts of problems.

All advice/suggestions/experience is appreciated.

Thank you all :)

2. Coradee

CoradeeModeratorModerator Member

Bumping this up for you

3. Anders247

Anders247Fishlore LegendMember

EBRs need warmer temps than panda cories and neon tetras. I would go with bolivian rams instead.

4. tfreema

tfreemaFishlore VIPMember