Question Electric Blue Ram Cichlid Care/possible Ich

Lucyn

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
So I decided to get this guy yesterday because my local fish store is Petco, which I'm usually forced to go to because there's no where else to get fish within 40 minutes away and it was a really cool fish that they rarely ever own. I noticed after acclimation he's doing just fine, hiding a lot but I heard that's very normal. I tried feeding him yesterday, something with larvae and he wouldn't eat even if it was right next to him. He doesn't appear to be sick as of now, he actually looks very healthy, just no appetite. If this problem persists, what should I try and do to get him to eat? I would hate to see him starve, I heard about the Garlic thing but is there any other tricks than that and turning off the lights? I've also heard that's one of the hardest parts of keeping them, their appetite after acclimation, any help or advise would be appreciated. This is my first time owning a Cichlid of any kind so, thank you! He has 2 or 3 little white dots on his rear fin but he's not twitching or flashing at all, no clamped fins, he is reclusive but that's normal behavior for these guys. I'm pretty sure they're just scratches/scar tissue, plus his poop was brown. Maybe it is ich and I should move him immediately?

Here's a picture of it in 001.
It's also only visible in certain lighting, which is odd. If you look at 002, it's not visible, but 003 it is?

UPDATE:
I've moved her into QT just to be safe, until I get further opinions.

Attachments

LeviS

Reaction score
Experience
4 years
22DD6070-B1C6-4FAD-9FAA-9535F09E5643.jpeg
It’s really hard to see the pics on my end, they are pretty small and when zoom in it’s just a blur. This is one of my rams that had ick if you see the little white dots on the tail.