Dwarf Puffers

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by lily bee, Apr 12, 2017.

1. lily beeNew MemberMember

Hello! I am relatively new to keeping aquariums but I definitely do my research before jumping into anything and consider myself a diligent fish keeper. I would like to start a dwarf puffer tank, however as I am moving soon I think I'd like it to be a small one. I've read this is NOT the consensus for DPs so I'm curious; if I plant my tank well enough and give it enough to interact with, can I keep just one DP in a 5 gal tank? I've read a lot about dwarf puffers but can't seem to find much info on keeping/ setting up a tank for just one. If I were to do this, what would be a recommended filter for this small tank with one messy fish? I plan on using a turkey baster to feed and avoid further waste. Also, do I need a heater? If so, what would you guys recommend for a tank of this size? Thanks so much for any input!

2. Little Tank of Happiness

Little Tank of HappinessWell Known MemberMember

Hello and welcome to Fish Lore! Yay a puffer fan has arrived! Woot!

Okay so to answer your questions
    1. Yes it is recommended to only keep 1 puffer in a 5. And of course by themselves because they have teeth and can be aggressive
    2. Sorry, I don't know about filters. However I've read that *some* puffers don't mind current that much and actually enjoy it. As juvis they can be timid of it but when adults they swim through it. So, buy a filter with as much current as the DP can handle. ;)
    3. Feeding: Do anything that is good for their teeth when they are juvenile. Snails are a good one. Some puffer keepers breed snails.
    4. Yes a heater is needed. Some say they like Eheim but I don't use those... that will require more research :)

Good luck!

Last edited: Apr 12, 2017
  3. cjbart1009

cjbart1009Valued MemberMember