Dwarf gouramis and sharks?

Valchitsa

I was wondering if a red tailed shark can get along with 1 or 2 dwarf gouramis in a 29 gallon tank. Also I need to know if tiger barbs would bother the dgs. I'm kinda new at this, I haven't had fish since I was in my early teens so I need a bit of a refresher.

The tank is almost done cycling and should be ready but next week. My plan is to get 1 red tailed shark (or is a rainbow better?), a school of tiger barbs (about 4-6), the gouramis and a pleco that only gets to 5" (forgot what kind though).

I'm just worried that I'm gonna overstock it or someone is going to try to kill someone else. And sadly I can't ask anyone at the pet store since the only one near me is a petsmart. I still can't find a lfs.

But any advice or help would be great. I just want to make sure that I make the best home possible for these little guys.

sasm3

no tigers with dwarfs. horrible idea. there really is no good combination of what you like. sorry

Amanda

red tails tend to get large, 6 inches I think. And tiger barbs may nip at the fins of the gouramis. Also, there is a virus going through dwarf gouramis right now. I was advised not to get any at the moment.

Valchitsa

So... is there anything else I can put with the tigers, rainbow and pleco... or is that a bad idea too? i'm willing to get something else but the rainbow is a must, he's the center piece of the tank. I just need to figure out the school and the random filler fish.

Are there any other schooling fish that won't be picked on by the rainbow but won't be picking on gouramis? And what disease is going through the dwarfs right now? I haven't heard anything.

Barbrella

IF you have 6 Tiger barbs - and you need at least 6 to try and avert aggression - one shark, and a pleco (I think you mean a Bristlenose), your tank will be fully stocked. All these fish will probably be very small when you buy them, but the Tigers grow to 3", the shark to 6" and the BN to around 5" = 29" of fish total!