Help Dwarf gourami laying on bottom of tank

Ladywithatank

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
My daughters dwarf gouramI has been acting very off today and laying on the bottom of the tank, I am only new to this and am not very sure why it's happening or how to help him

Water parameters are 25c
Ammonia 0, nitrite 0, nitrate 5 (looks red in picture because of wood)

Only had him for a week :/

Attachments

OP
L

Ladywithatank

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
8 zebra danios
1 more dwarf gouramI (there been no bullying though the other guy stays in the corner at the back and seems fine
Also 1 pygmy corydoras as my LFS only had one and I've got another 5 on order but need to sort this guy out first :/

jinjerJOSH22

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Ladywithatank said:
8 zebra danios
1 more dwarf gouramI (there been no bullying though the other guy stays in the corner at the back and seems fine
Also 1 pygmy corydoras as my LFS only had one and I've got another 5 on order but need to sort this guy out first :/
The thing is Dwarf GouramI are solitary by nature and they will see other GouramI as threats, even if you haven't seen any bullying it's likely happening, the mere presence of another will likely cause stress and cause one to act subdued.
I would advise separating them even if this isn't the cause because it will likely stop future issues. :)

OP
L

Ladywithatank

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
jinjerJOSH22 said:
The thing is Dwarf GouramI are solitary by nature and they will see other GouramI as threats, even if you haven't seen any bullying it's likely happening, the mere presence of another will likely cause stress and cause one to act subdued.
I would advise separating them even if this isn't the cause because it will likely stop future issues. :)