Dwarf Gourami Gravid?

BEAM1080

Reaction score
I don't even know if it's a female. But she isn't happy right now. Color looks good. So my first guess is she is full of eggs and no Male to build a bubble nest. Any thoughts?? See picture.

Attachments

OP
B

BEAM1080

Reaction score
That's what I always called it. When a female is full of eggs and there are no males. They get all fat and have no where to put the eggs. But I'm not sure with this one. Because I have no experience with gourami. I'm hoping it's that. Because if not. Then she is sick. Or he?

Amazoniantanklvr

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Nope, that's male. Too colorful. However the dorsal confuses me. Anyway, the fish is bloated. Even if it was female the egg area isn't in that shape. PascalKrypt

Feohw

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
That's a male. Looks like its bloated. I'd start off by fasting for a few days. If push comes to shove daphnia or even peas can be used to help things along. Hopefully that's all, and try to feed less.

jinjerJOSH22

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Amazoniantanklvr said:
Nope, that's male. Too colorful. However the dorsal confuses me. Anyway, the fish is bloated. Even if it was female the egg area isn't in that shape. PascalKrypt
Fin shape isn’t a good way of telling Dwarf GouramI as males can have quite rounded fins. Colour is the best way.

100% male, I’d test to see if there’s issues with water quality and do what Feohw

Amazoniantanklvr

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
jinjerJOSH22 said:
Fin shape isn’t a good way of telling Dwarf GouramI as males can have quite rounded fins. Colour is the best way.

100% male, I’d test to see if there’s issues with water quality and do what Feohw
Ah, good to know. I knew that it was male anyways

Feohw

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Even so, that dorsal is very much that of a male. Females won't be that pointy.

Amazoniantanklvr

Well Known