Votes: 1 20.0%
  • G2 Male

Votes: 4 80.0%
  • G2 Female

Votes: 1 20.0%

• Total voters

GavinFish

Hi everyone, I am new to fishlore,
I just got my dwarf gourami 1 week ago, but I am not sure if they are male or female.
The G1 has rounded dorsal fin, so I assumed that it's a female, but it's quite long compare to some of the pictures I've seen online.
And G2 seems to have long and relatively pointy dorsal fin and vividly coloured, but I am not sure if the evidence is enough. And G1 seems to be bigger and chases G2 around from time to time.
Could someone please help me identify the gender of my fish? Thxxx

Ps: They may appear to be quite pale if you are looking from a computer screen but the colour looks more saturated on a phone or in real life.
_MG_3062.jpg

Best Answer - View Leeman75's answer

Leeman75

Hello and welcome to Fishlore!!

Those are both 2 different types of Male Dwarf Gourami. DG1 I've seen called the Neon DG and the other is a Flame DG (which I have one of). Male DGs are extremely territorial and thus it's not typically advised to keep more than one in a tank. Though you see them often in a tank with many others at the fish store seemingly getting along ok, that's not how most will act once in a new tank.

How big is your tank? If it's a big enough tank, with other fish, and hiding spots, you may be able to get away with it, but I would keep a very close eye on it and be prepared to move one if it seems that it's getting stressed and beat up on.

They are very pretty fish though!!

AcuarioAmazonico

100% male. Colouration shown only occurs in the male species. Females are rounder and silver (most of the time)

GavinFish

Leeman75 said: