Dry Start Monte Carlo Melt

1. Fahn

Fahn Fishlore VIP Member

Can't provide pictures, unfortunately.

Tank is a tiny 1.5 gallon. Substrate is Controsoil. Several weeks ago I added 2 pots of monte carlo and decided to dry start it. It is receiving 14 hours of light per day from a Chihiros A-Series LED. Tank has a glass lid which I keep on to maintain high humidity. Twice a day I open the lid to let in fresh air and also to irrigate the plants and soil with a syringe of distilled water. I never try to over-saturate the soil so there is never standing water.

While the plants have rooted and there are new runners filling in, the portion in the middle of the tank is looking mushy and brown. Am I over-watering, or perhaps I need to leave the lid slightly ajar? I've never done a dry start before so it's bothering me quite a bit.

I can provide pics this evening, wondering if I should take that portion out...

2. KirkyTurkey

KirkyTurkey Valued Member Member

How long has it been since it started? I am in week 3 of doing the same, and week 2 I had melting, its back to being green and spreading now in week 3. I believe its because it was adjusting from growing submerged to emersed, and I expect some more melting when I flood it again.

3. OP
    OP
    Fahn

Fahn Fishlore VIP Member

I wanna say one month since starting, might only be 3 weeks. I'll have to see if it's old or new growth, but I'm 99% sure they were originally grown emmersed.

Some of the original plant is yellowed a bit but most of the new growth has been compact, dark green and healthy.

4. OP
    OP
    Fahn

Fahn Fishlore VIP Member

Looks like it's mushy and has white fungus. I'm removing that portion tomorrow.

5. KirkyTurkey

Yeah that sounds like too much water or poor circulation. The only things I'm doing differently is spraying with flourish (my substrate isn't fertilized though) and keeping my lid cracked instead of opening it during the day

6. OP
    OP
    Fahn

Fahn Fishlore VIP Member