Drumming with fish

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ROMAN821, Mar 30, 2010.

1. R

ROMAN821 New Member

Hey all I just have a quick question... I am a drummer, have been one for 8 years now and have decided to get a fish tank. The problem is I read fish feel through vibrations so my question for you all is, will my drumming stress :;fru the fish out a lot or will the remain calm? (My kit is up in my room while my aquarium is downstairs right below my room)... I could go with electronic drums but I'd prefer not to so if anyone has suggestions I would greatly appreciate them! :;drum

2. Butterfly

Butterfly Moderator Moderator Member

Since their that far apart it may not bother them. all I know to do is try it and see.
    Carol

3. Nutter

Nutter Fishlore VIP Member

Welcome to Fishlore Roman. :;hi2

The best answer I can give you is that it probably will effect the fish but there are several variables that I can only guess at. The best way for you to find out what effect it is having on your fish is for you to sit & watch the tank when the house has been all quiet for a while, then get one of your mates to suddenly start bashing away on the drums as hard as you would be. If the fish suddenly start to dart around or sort of freeze up & then go off into hiding, then the drums are definitley disturbing them. You could try mounting your bass drum on some polystyrene to dampen the vibration coming from that as it is probably the main offender. You could also put polystyrene blocks under the snare stand as it would be the next biggest offender. Also pad up underneath any amps if you have mates come over for jam sessions with thier guitars.

4. LyndaB

LyndaB Fishlore Legend Member

Many fish are very sensitive to loud noise. It's not so much the vibration as the fact that, although their ear parts are internal, they can hear.

A lot of the sites that describe fish species will include whether or not that particular fish is sensitive to noise.