Don't Know Where To Go With All My Questions

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Georgie Girl, Aug 24, 2019.

1. Georgie Girl

Georgie GirlValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +91
    Experience:
    1 year
    I'm not exactly a noob.... I guess I'd say I'm a weak novice.

I'm upgrading my betta, László, to a 10 gallon (from five) and I have questions about the tank I want, the substrate I should get (I'll have live plants), what to do about diatoms, the best pH for a betta, and more.

Is this the right place? Truly, I have so many questions.

If this is the right place, here's my first question: what's the best substrate for my little one-fish planted universe? I've looked at a few today, and each time I decided "that's the one," I'd start finding negative reviews of it. Your thoughts?

2. Crispii

CrispiiWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1,211
    Any substrate should do fine when growing plants. When growing plants in either sand or gravel, you're going to need to find ways to feed your plants either root tabs or liquid fertilizer. If you're not going to give your plants root tabs, then you can either use dirt capped with sand/gravel or use aqua soil. Best brand of aqua soil includes ADA Amazonia, Fluval Stratum, and Mr. Aqua.

3. candiedragon

candiedragonWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +843
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years