Does This Look Like Dropsy?

Toddzilla

Reaction score
Hey, I'm new to the forums... hope I'm in the right place. I was maintenancing my pond for the first time this spring and I came across one sickly goldfish. I have isolated it and I'm thinking it has dropsy but I'm no expert. Attached are some pictures. Does it look like dropsy? It's hard to tell from the pictures but the scales affected are very raised as well as discolored. Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Attachments

_IceFyre_

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
The scales look like they're sticking out a bit, but the pic is from the side so it's kind of hard to tell. Quite a few of them are missing altogether.
Would you be able to get a picture from above OP?

Rtessy

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Gypsy13 said:
Y’all want to take a look at these for me? Hubby says looks more like wounds or burns to him? @TexasDomer @Rtessy @Hunter1 need some eyes? Please?
Looks a little bloated, but the scales don't seem to quite be pineconing, but possibly in the middle area. There might be something going on though, they are discolored and seem to be losing color/ turning pink. Might just be coloration, but it looks like there might be some blood beneath the surface under a group of the transluscent scales, could just be a bruise... I don't know how fish bruises work lol. A few sections of transluscent scales, some red at the edges, and in clusters. I don't think I'll be able to tell if it's dropsy or not without a top view... sorry I couldn't help more. The first pic it does look like there are some scales sticking up a but behind the gills for just a few rows, four or five, and on the other side in the second pic the scales behind the gills don't seem to be sticking up but it's possible the ones in the middle are.

Toddzilla

Reaction score