Does tetra safestart work?

1. Jren

Jren Valued Member Member

hi all! im a complete newbie here and im starting a freshwater aquarium. im thinking of using tetra safestart as they say that you can add fish a day after. so my questions are:
    1) does it work?
    2) how do i use it?
    3) any tips?

thanks and have a nice day!

2. Aquaphobia

Aquaphobia Fishlore Legend Member

3. Aludar

Aludar Valued Member Member

Currently in the process of cycling a 36g bowfront having used TSS and in comparison to a 5g that I wanted to cycle at the same time w/o I can see a difference in the stages of the cycling process. Just remember with or without fish and with or without a bacterial starter...patience is key. Good luck in your future fishy endeavors and welcome to the forums.:;rocker

4. OP
    OP
    Jren

i gonna get a 20 gallon tank. how many cories do u think i can add in ahha

thanks!

5. Aquaphobia

I would not cycle a tank with cories, not even using TSS. They're a bit sensitive. What other fish were you thinking of stocking?

6. OP
    OP
    Jren

neon tetras, a dwarf gourami and maybe a few guppies if im not overstocking

actually thinking of a bn pleco as well but im not sure how to take care of them ahaha

7. Aquaphobia

Neon tetras have different temperature requirements than the other fish on your list. Also not sure if a 20 is big enough for a BN Pleco, I think they need 29 gallons.

Maybe you could start with the guppies, maybe 2 to 4 in a 20 depending on size, and when your tank is cycled you can start adding other fish:)

8. OP
    OP
    Jren

are there any other tetras with the same temperature range for my fish? i probably wont add a bn pleco as they seem to have many needs haha

9. Aquaphobia

Definitely! Glowlight tetras and Black Neon tetras are two that spring to mind because I have them;)