Does My Tank Look Cycled? Help

Discussion in 'Aquarium Water' started by esqueff, Aug 19, 2019.

1. esqueff

esqueffValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +50
    Experience:
    5 years
    Hello all!! I’ve been keeping fish for 5 years now in a 55 gallon tank! I only used test strips for that aquarium but ran out a few years ago. I have since learned on fish lore that api master test kit is pretty much the most accurate test so I finally bought one.

I’ve been recently setting up a fluval 6 gallon tank to hold hopefully a few cpds in the next little bit. When starting out this tank I grabbed some ceramic rings and a little filter floss from two of my giant canister filters on the 55 to put Into this brand new filter. My friend needed to find a home for two female guppies as he was taking down a tank and starting up a new one. So it took them off his hands. Those have been in the 6 gallon tank for 3 days now and have seemed very happy so far. I do plan to probably rehome them to the 55 before I get the celestial pearl danios as I know it isn’t the best to have them in a 6 gallon tank.
    Okay onto the test!
    My Ph tested at 8.1
    Amonnia looks like it’s possibly .25? Not too sure..
    I have 0 nitrites
    And I’d say around 5-10 nitrates
    I also Tested the tap water for nitrates and it appears to be a little less than 5?

I’m just a little confused as to why it appears I have a very small amount of ammonia but no nitrites at all and more nitrates from the tank water compared to the tap water. What do you guys think?? Thank you so much for all the help I’ve found so far on this forum!!

The order is: Ammonia, Nitrites, Nitrates, Tap water nitrates

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Mongo75

Mongo75Valued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +223
    I'm no expert, but it looks to me like 0.25, 0, 5 and <5, ammo, nitrites, nitrates, and tap.