Does my male half moon betta have fin rot, or is it something else?

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by TheMuffinMan, Jul 16, 2015.

1. T

TheMuffinMan New Member Member

I have a male half moon betta fish named Archimedes. I have had him for maybe 4 months now (I'm not good at keeping track of the date). About a week ago, I had noticed his fins were a bit torn and started to turn a bit red in some areas. He had also started to get small white blobs on his body. He also started to get a little less active about a month after I had gotten him. I had been searching for diseases and illnesses that could occur in a betta, and I have my mind set on fin rot. I am pretty new to betta fish and I want to make sure I am doing the right thing here. I decided to pick up a bottle of API Betta Fix ( ). I unplugged his filter gave him about a teaspoon of betta fix yesterday and today (I realized his tank is smaller than I thought, so I am going to give him half a teaspoon tomorrow). I want to make sure I am doing the right thing for Archimedes here, and this was the only website that seemed helpful. If anyone could give me some info about this, that would be great.

Also, I would like to know:
    - Does he really have fin rot or is it something else like ich?
    - Should I continue to give him betta fix and follow the instructions on the bottle?
    - Can betta fix harm him if he doesn't really have fin rot?
    20150716_070943[1].jpg 20150716_071029[1].jpg 20150716_071043[1].jpg 20150716_073119[1].jpg 20150716_073129[1].jpg

2. BornThisWayBettas

BornThisWayBettas Fishlore VIP Member

Welcome to Fish Lore!!!!! Good to have you here!

First off, what are your water parameters and tank size? I've never treated with those medications, so I really wouldn't know much about them.

3. PuffPuff

PuffPuff Well Known Member Member

Bettafix can work. Usually within 24 hours. It will give your betta the right amount of oil it needs to fix the fin

4. Dom90

Dom90 Fishlore VIP Member