Does anybody else have a tank that has NEVER cycled???

mcurtissdsu

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Does anybody on here have a tank that has just never cycled? I really believe it's just never going to happen. I've been doing this for 6 months and I haven't even gotten close. My readings have not changed even one bit in over 3 months and I have done water changes every day (with the exception of maybe 3 or 4 times when I wasn't home in 6 months.) Everyday it's the exact same thing. Ammonia is 0.25, nitrites are 1.0 and nitrates are 5. pH is 7.8-8.0, temp runs between 80 and 82, depending on the weather.

Is it possible that I don't have enough ammonia being produced in my 29 gallon tank to get this thing to finish? Obviously keeping up with the water changes has done absolutely nothing. I have two 2-inch fancy tail male guppies and one angelfish (currently about 2", maybe 2.5") and that's all I have in there. I feed 2 or 3 times a day, only what they can eat in 1 to 2 minutes. PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!!!!! ??? > :'( :-\

Meenu

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Buff up your filter media. Your BB probably needs more space to colonize on.

LyndaB

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Do you have a lab nearby where you could bring samples from both tanks to be tested for pH, ammonia, nitrite & nitrates? I'm wondering if there's something wrong with your test kit itself. Or, is there a possibility you are not performing the tests correctly, i.e., number of drops from which bottle into which test tube.

There are usually more labs around than you think. But if you're not looking for them, you'd never know they were there.

I'm so confused. Your aquarium info states you started these tanks in April and May. Is that correct?

mcurtissdsu

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
LyndaB said: