Do you fret?

Discussion in 'Polls' started by Meenu, Dec 16, 2009.

?

How do you feel when you test your water

1. I don't test my water. Why would I do that?

5 vote(s)
    8.5%
  2. I've heard of a cycle but don't know what it is.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. I'm a bundle of nerves every time!

11 vote(s)
    18.6%
  4. I'm cool as a cucumber. My tank is cycled and I have no worries.

43 vote(s)
    72.9%
  1. Meenu

MeenuFishlore VIPMember

I checked my water again today. The readings are still good (0,0,5) but I spent the entire time I was testing nervous that my cycle crashed. lol

So it got me thinking: I feel like that every time I check my water. How do others handle it? Anxiety or no anxiety?

2. btate617

btate617Well Known MemberMember

I really can't answer since I have no test kits, which I don't recommend others do.

Honestly I have been doing this seriously since about 1996, had tanks before that but I wasn't into breeding then, and I have never done a water test.

It would be interesting to test mine and see how far off I am though.

Brian

3. iloveengl

iloveenglWell Known MemberMember

My first 2 months (at least) were so filled with anxiety that I seriously didn't understand how people could enjoy this hobby.

Now that I have a bit of experience behind me and the same fishies happy and healthy since August, I don't worry. Also, my tanks are super stable with the stock/bioload level and cleaning routine, so that definitely helps chill the nerves.

Totally new fish (or like my soon to be new crab) definitely freak me out. I bet I'll be checking the crab tank every day until I figure out crabby bioloads. :)

4. harpua2002

harpua2002Fishlore VIPMember

I rarely test the FW tanks. I've been in the hobby long enough to recognize that there is a problem- once I understand each different setup and plan a maintenance routine that works for me, my fish and plants let me know if there is a problem.

5. bubblefishValued MemberMember