Do I overstock my planted tank?

fishy69

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
G'day, I am a newbie to fish keeping and need some advise from the gurus on this forum. I have a fully cycled 49 Gallon fish tank (1.2m wide) and my fish are:
-13 lamb chop rasboras
-13 neon tetras
-9 cory habrosus
-7 Celestial pearl danios
-4 otocinclus
-15 cherry shrimps

I believe I over filtered my tank as I have fluval external canister 307 and aqua clear view 500.
How often and how much should I do a water change? Can I add couple nerite snails in the tank? Also, do I need to add more plants? Thanks in advance.

Attachments

Debbie1986

Well Known
Reaction score
snails are cleaners, so I say go ahead

cories & shrimps are cleaners too so they help offset the bio load.

I would add a few more plants though for the snails to enjoy & hiding places for molting shrimp. Nice looking tank

mimo91088

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Cories and shrimp need to be fed. They add a minimal amount to the bioload but they don't offset anything. Nerites won't offset anything either, they eat algae and don't really need supplemental feeding, but algae while unsightly actually cleans the water too, so they're not a negative bioload either. That being said, that's a good size tank and your stocking sounds fine to me. I agree that more plants never hurt though!

toeknee

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Your stocking seems fine and you can add a handful of nerite snails for sure. More plants never hurt, they help with water quality, provide places for fish to hide and IMO are your best defense against algae.

OP
F

fishy69

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
thanks guys, was a bit worried cause my stocking seems awful according to "inch per gallon rule". What do you guys recommend for low tech foreground plants?

FinalFins

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score