Important Do I need to remove a fish?

Ren1920

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Ok I was recently told I could keep a female betta in my community tank with male guppies. It’s been 3 days and she’s split two of their tails already. I’m assuming she’s the culprit because my guppies nip but never split. Do I wait a week or so until she settles in or take her out now? I never actually see it happen when I watch them they leave each other alone so it must happen at night. Any advice with female betta and guppies?

It’s a 15 gal with 4 male guppies 5 white clouds and the female betta

Lebeeze

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
I was always told not to keep bettas with guppys because they look too similar, but I think this is just for male bettas. You might just have a really mean female betta that wont tolerate tank mates? I'm not an expert though

OP
Ren1920

Ren1920

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Lebeeze said:
I was always told not to keep bettas with guppys because they look too similar, but I think this is just for male bettas. You might just have a really mean female betta that wont tolerate tank mates? I'm not an expert though
Yeah I’ve always been told it’s the males who are aggressive. I’ve seen plenty of community tanks with bettas so I’m wondering if she’s just getting used to having tank mates. I think I’ll give her a week and watch closely for any more damage

Goldfishknees

Reaction score
Ren1920 said:
Yeah I’ve always been told it’s the males who are aggressive. I’ve seen plenty of community tanks with bettas so I’m wondering if she’s just getting used to having tank mates. I think I’ll give her a week and watch closely for any more damage
Keep an eye on her where there's so many other fish she may just be trying to dominate if she continues this behavior for more the 3 more days I would remove her.

OP
Ren1920

Ren1920

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Goldfishknees said: