Do I Need To Dose Macro Nutrients?

1. Schmidthead

Schmidthead Member Member

I'm pretty new to planted tanks, and my plants are growing okay I guess. The issue that I wanted to address was my java fern (who cant grow java fern right). I understand that java fern is a super slow grower.

But since I've added more plants (java moss, hornwort, amazon sword) my java fern has started growing significantly slower. Ive grown them all from plantlets from a mother leaf, and the plantlets all just stopped growing when I added the extra plants.

I would like for them to grow better so I was just looking through stuff online and it got me thinking.

I dose Flourish and Excel in my 10 Gallon, but flourish is just MICRO nutrients isn't it? Do fish and just my natural tap water provide enough of the K and Ca that the I assume the plants want? Is there any way to test if my levels are too low?

My params are:
    Ammonia 0
    Nitrite 0
    Nitrates ~ 20-25
    Lighting ~ two 50/50 10watt CFLs for 7.5 hrs

5 zebra danios, gold inca snail, 4 ghost shrimp (I lost one this morning :()

2. Farlowella Fella

Farlowella Fella Member Member

Excel isn't great for shrimp I've heard and it has spurred many a debate on fish forums. I have two 30 gal planted tanks which I haven't dosed in months and all the plants are doing well. I don't have java fern but my mosses are growing well (also non-vascular column feeding). I think generally you should be able to get away with just conditioned tap water and maybe at flourish if you really want to make sure the micro nutrients are available.

Also you should get those Nitrates under 20 ppm :)

3. OP
    OP
    Schmidthead

My moss is growing like crazy which is why I'm a little confused on why the fern isnt. That's what I was originally researching and just started reading about macros and got curious. As for the nitrates I tend to keep them around 10-15 but I've gotten a little lazy lately haha

4. SeattleRoy

SeattleRoy Well Known Member Member