Do I need gloves?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karl R

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Ok here's my question. I've seen on this site a wholelot of discussion about polluting water. Now I may be a newbie to this hobie, but imo I am very careful with my aquarium. I wash my hands and arms with antibacterial foaming soap and rinse very well before I fool around in my aquarium. Should I just buy a set of aquarium gloves? Does the risk to my fresh water planted aquariums health warrent such a purchase? Am I being overly cautious? Are my concerns about contaminating my aquarium warrented? Or am I not being overly cautious?. My aquariums contain gold pristella tetras neon tetras painted plattys zebra plattys peppered corydoras snails and varied lowlight plants. My amonia is 0 ppm my nitrite is 0 ppm my nitrate is between 0 and 3 ppm my ph is at 7.2. The reason I ask is because I am a general handy man. I make my living doing everything from masonry work to automotive repair. Some of the things I work with are very toxic to people let alone fish. I can and will buy the aquarium gloves if it is necessary. Just let me know what you guys think. Thanks in advance for your replies.

Jaysee

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
The only time I ever wash my hands and arms before I put them in the tank is if I've sprayed bug spray or sun tan lotion or anything like that. If I've just gone about my day, I don't worry about it. Oh, and always after doing laundry.

But it would be good to get a pair of gloves for those especially dirty days in your case.

midthought

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
If you're working with toxic materials, I'd say that the 15 dollar aquarium gloves aren't a bad investment then.

I, however, put a lot more emphasis on washing *after* putting my hands in the tank than before.

harpua2002

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years