Do i have to keep my filter on 24/7

VRP

Reaction score
Im very new to this hobby and my parent really hate the noise of the filter. I was wondering whether i have to keep my filter on 24/7???????

Blueberrybetta

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Yes you need to leave it on 24/7, the filter is what holds the beneficial bacteria that eats away the toxic waste your fish produce. Having a filter helps clean the water going back into the tank .

What type of filter is it? Normally filters are quiet besides hearing the water flow. Your filter could be faulty, clogged or maybe something is stuck causing a noise.

Sputnik

Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Agree with Blueberrybetta, that filter is what keeps your beneficial bacteria alive. Without that, waste will accumulate in your tank and kill your fish quickly. The only time I turn off mt filter is when I do a water change, and I only even do that for motorized pumps- the sponge fters stay on no matter what!

GlennO

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Elkwatcher said:
Depending on your tank size, you could also get a quiet air pump and use sponge filters. They will support many sizes of tanks.
Is there such a thing as a quiet air pump?

OP
VRP

VRP

Reaction score
It's quiet in my opinion but my parents are very, very sensitive to even the tiniest noises.

goldface

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Well, assuming it's only an issue when your parents are trying to sleep, it won't be the end of the world to turn it off every night. If you've done this before and the fish were fine, then I don't see a problem. Some variables might not make this conducive, however, like being severely overstocked, etc.

baph0meat

Reaction score
Experience
Just started