DIY styrofoam background 10 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'DIY - Do It Yourself' started by aylad, Dec 31, 2012.

1. ayladWell Known MemberMember

Today I finally started shaping some styrofoam for the background in my long-planned RCS tank. I'll use this thread to document my progress.

I'm using a styrofoam "cutter" that is basically a long, hot wire that melts away the styro. I've never used it before. I'm mostly pleased, except for the strings of molten plastic that it leaves behind.

Three pics and a video of my progress so far:

uploadfromtaptalk1357006051078.jpg
    Started with a chunk very similar to this. The styro was packaging on our new TV a few months ago.

uploadfromtaptalk1357006116068.jpg
    Ended with this. The "cave" will open onto a cavity hiding the heater and one of the two sponge filters. I wanted a big opening so shrimp could graze on the filter without getting trapped, but the opening is now too big: I did want the equipment to be inconspicuous.

uploadfromtaptalk1357006271979.jpg
    My work area. The cutting tool is in the foreground.

[video=youtube;5R9FSAOiqqk]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5R9FSAOiqqk[/video]

I ended up making another piece for the video to close up the hole a bit. (My cinematographer/wife says the camera adds 10 pounds to my hands. :p)

Last edited: Dec 31, 2012
  2. Matt BWell Known MemberMember

I can see where you're going with that, I like it! Especially the sponge filter "bay" where the shrimp can get access to it. :;th Neat tool too, tell your wife she was filming your hands "bad side" ;)

3. ayladWell Known MemberMember

Thanks, I'll pass that along. ;D

I need to get back to work on it, probably this weekend. I'm very excited to be making progress, finally.

4. Matt BWell Known MemberMember

That must be a satisfying media to work with, much faster progress than my usual bashing rocks and hoping they end up in the shape I want!