DIY Nitrate reducer

Discussion in 'DIY - Do It Yourself' started by hop2jr, Mar 24, 2010.

1. h

hop2jr Valued Member Member

I was talking with my LFS guy about ways to reduce nitrate levels in my tanks to have more time between water changes. He showed me his set-up on the store tanks, he took 75' to 100' of 1/8th inch water tubeing the kind you use to hookup a frig ice maker with wrap it in a coil, start a siphin untill the water slowly drips out of the hose back into the tank or sump. the theory is that nitrates cann't live in still or slow moving water and the time it takes to drip thru the line causes them to die off leaving you with 0 nitrates in the tank. Has anyone here ever heard of doing this or tried it?Please give me your views on this theory.

2. Shawnie

Shawnie Fishlore Legend Member

hmmm im not sure as im not technical like that ;) but I have a tank im trying to grow algae/infusoria in and the nitrates are unreadable as they are so high...its a tank that sits on my window sill without a heater/filter.....

3. HitchHiker

HitchHiker Valued Member Member

Ok my guess is that it doesn't work that way. A nitrate is:

Nitrates are chemical compounds which, among other defining characteristics, contain the polyatomic ion nitrate, which is composed of one atom of nitrogen and three atoms of oxygen, together having a single net negative charge.

As taken from  . If it was breaking down the nitrates then there should be oxygen and nitrogen gasses escaping, and I would think that in a tube that small that you would end up with vapor lock. But then again am not a chemist, so I might be wrong.

4. midthought

midthought Well Known Member Member