DIY LED Lighting

Shanban45

I'm looking for advice and resources to create diy LED lighting for my 20 and 65 freshes and my 28 salt. Eventually I plan to have the lights controlled by a raspberry pi system. Im studying programming so this is a learning project for me.

Ive been researching for a couple weeks but what I find is a lot of descriptions of builds where they list parts and instructions, but dont explain why certain LEDs are used for certain spectrums, compatibility with color/dimming control, etc.

Long story short, I know this is super broad but Im looking for DIY LED lighting resources and/or advice.

Specific things I would like help with are choosing LED bulbs for different lighting needs, controlling dimming/color, choosing a mount, and understanding power setup, essentially everything. Anything you can offer would be great.

Pfrozen

honestly the expensive lights with WRGB settings are great and the customization is nice... but t5HO lights with just the regular fluorescent tubes will do just fine. I'm currently running a small 10g tank with just a clip-on desk lamp and a 16W led bulb (100w equivalent) rated at 5000k. most LED bulbs are compatible with most dimmers. I could theoretically dim mine but obviously no color control if you go with something cheap like that. the lamp and bulb was 30 dollars CAD total I think. i cant give a proper review yet because i just set it up but its running

Shanban45

Hmm this is good food for thought, thank you. I think the clip on setup you have would work well for my 20 and would be really simple. Do you know what it would involve to make that setup dimmable?

noobscaper

How tall is your aquarium?
If it's less than 12 inches you'd be fine with grow lights from IKEA (
If it's taller, maybe you could go with floodlights. Not sure on different brands, but Cory from Aquarium Co-Op got great results from the Lepower 50W one.
Otherwise,

Pfrozen

Shanban45 said: