Discolored Pool Filter Sand

Sierra23

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi all,
Probably a total newbie question, but I have a 50 gallon planted tank with pool filter sand as substrate. Over the 9 months the tank has been up and running, I’ve found that some of the sand is turning a dark dirty color. Like individual grains, but not all. So the beautiful off white color it started as is no more. Is this normal?
Thanks!

Dave125g

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Yea the lighter the substrate the more the biofilm, algae and poop stand out. I stir up my substrate monthly to bury that stuff. Doing so provides some fertilizer for the plants. Corydoras help stir the sand and kick up poop which is then pulled in by the filter.

Gypsy13

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Dave125g said:
Yea the lighter the substrate the more the biofilm, algae and poop stand out. I stir up my substrate monthly to bury that stuff. Doing so provides some fertilizer for the plants. Corydoras help stir the sand and kick up poop which is then pulled in by the filter.
Thank you. This will be my first adventure in a sandy bottom aquarium! And you’re right. Corys do stir things up!

Thunder_o_b

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
How deep is the substrate?

I have PFS in a 55. After more than a month it is as white as the day I put it in. I use aggressive filtration (700 GPH) along with a product called Seachem Pristine

I use it in all our aquariums and it is very effective I rarely gravel vac. I do swizzle the sand right before a water change, but this is more to prevent the sand from compacting around the roots of my plants.

If you are using UV sterilizers you will need to turn them off for at least three days to give the Pristine bacteria a chance to establish its self in the substrate.

Ms rose

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started