Dirting It Up, have a Question

Discussion in 'Freshwater Substrates - Gravel, Sand' started by DTurner, Jul 9, 2015.

1. D

DTurner Valued Member Member

Hey Guys,

So I'm planning a Dirt Tank. i have never done it before and I have purchased the dirt, red flourite (clay based for iron) and a Black Sand top.

Now my question is this. How should I prepare the Dirt. Should I mix the Flourite and Dirt then cap it with sand. Or should I layer the dirt with flourite then the flourite with sand.

Thanks for the advice in advance.

David

2. Bluestreakfl

Bluestreakfl Well Known Member Member

If I remember right it goes Dirt, then clay, then cap. Have you read Diana Walstads book, Ecology of the Planted Aquarium? Definitely a must read book for dirted tanks. You can find the kindle version for around $10 and its worth 10 times that in my opinion.

3. OP
    OP
    D

Thanks for the info. I'll look into getting that book. Sounds like a must read for this hobby.

4. Bluestreakfl

Its a very good book. It goes into extreme detail regarding dirted tanks, planted tanks, and the chemistry of it all. Quite fascinating stuff.

5. OP
    OP
    D

Oh that sounds like something I should read. I'm slowly trying to read up on the science of the planted tank.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

6. AquaticBrandon

AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

I would cap it with the dirt, the Flourite and then the sand

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

7. OP
    OP
    D

Thanks brandon. That is most likely the way I'm going to go.

What are your guys take on minimal cap depth. So the front I only will have able 3/4" of dirt another quarter to half inch of flourite. Can I get away with 1/4" of sand to cap or do you recommend a good half inch cap minimum?

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

8. Bluestreakfl