Dirting An Established Tank

Alex6455
I would like to dirt my 10 gallon tank, which currently has gravel in it. I want to do thisbecause iam slowly trying to plant this tank. I have limitations with plants selections whenI have gravel lol. Please help, as I am still learning. Chip in with your experiences!
This is the info I found as well as what I think I will be doing.

New substrate:

Miracle Gro Organic Potting soil - 1 inch layer
Sand as a cap - not sure what brand /type. What do you recommend? I am looking for a sand that won't create much of a mess/dust cloud. - 1 inch layer

Process:

I think I will be doing a fish in change. Before, I will vacuum the gravel, as well as bringing the water level down. Would I remove all the gravel from one side, add the dirt and sand, wait for it to settle, then repeat for the other side? I considered taking the fish out, but decided it would be too much of a hassle.

In conclusion, what steps here are right and what else do I need to do? What sand would you recommend (looking for minimal mess and cheap sand)? Thanks in advance!

Demeter
You best remove all the fish, drain all the water, then add the dirt as a thick mud, then add the sand after rinsing it. If you try doing a fish-in change you will have a big mess and cloudy tank. I've dirted 6 tanks and trust me, you do not want even a smidgen of mud having access to the water column. For a little 10gal tank, it should be no problem. A 36gal bowfront on the other hand took me a few hours.

Pool filter sand both looks nice and is cheap, I'd go with that.

Side note: be careful with ammonia spikes. As the organic material (and any little organisms) break down under the sand it will create ammonia, so test the water every couple of days and do water changes accordingly.

Alex6455