Dips For Frogbit And Water Sprite

1. Soxrobin

Soxrobin Valued Member Member

I started adding plants to my 10 gal a couple years ago, but to avoid hitchhikers, I always bought tissue cultured plants. Aside from being a somewhat expensive way to plant a tank, it also makes my plant choices pretty limited. I have recently put together a 36 bowfront and planted it with tissue cultured plants, but I really wanted water sprite and frogbit for the tank, which I could not find as a culture.

So, I bit the bullet, made an Aquabid account, and ordered some. The person I got them from said that they come from indoor plant only or guppy tanks with no snails. Still, since this is my first time adding plants that aren't tissue cultured, I'm paranoid about hitchhikers. So, when the plants arrived, (a day late in a smashed box with the water sprite bag popped... thanks post office...), I put them in a cut up water jug with tank water. They have been there for a week, and so far I have not spotted any snails, but I'm still a bit hesitant to put them in my tank. Plus, I worry about things I can't see making it into my tank, as well. (I had to tear down my 10 gal and start over due to camalanus worms from a healthy looking guppy, and I do not want to repeat that experience!)

I've never liked working with bleach, so I'm leery of a bleach dip. I spray 3% hydrogen peroxide directly on my houseplants' roots when I repot with no ill effects, so I thought that might be gentler on the aquarium plants. But, it seems like most people recommend bleach, though not for "sensitive plants." Would frogbit or water sprite be considered sensitive? What is my best bet for making sure I don't introduce anything to my tank? Also, if hydrogen peroxide would work, how would I use it? The posts I have read that mention it give specific instructions for using bleach, but then just say "or you can do a hydrogen peroxide dip" with no further information.