Did My "cichlid Specialty Store" Do Me Wrong?

mgarza

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm new to this, so I went to a fish store to help me stock my 60 gallon tank. The owners of the store helped pick all the cichlids for me and assured me they would be great together, but after doing my own research, I'm thinking I'm sitting on a timebomb. Heres what I have, keeping in mind all these fish are juveniles, about 4 inches big, right now. I have 2 Texas electric blues, 2 blood parrot fish, 1 dragon blood, 1 deep water hap( appears to be tank boss), 1 yellow lab,1 albino rainbow shark, 2 frontos, 2 paratalopia bleekeri, 2 red jeweled, 1 green scat, and 1 monofish. I'm not having agression issues right now, but the more I read, the more I'm thinking I'm gonna need another large tank or two. Any advice on what I'm going to need to do in the near future?

Fashooga

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Yeah you have a problem. You have South Americans mixed with Africans. Both require different parameters. Africans require higher pH than American Cichilds.

You should a group, Africans or American Cichilds. Return the ones back and go from there. Knowing your pH will help determine what you want, or at least make your decision easier.

mgarza

Reaction score
Fashooga said:
Yeah you have a problem. You have South Americans mixed with Africans. Both require different parameters. Africans require higher pH than American Cichilds.

You should a group, Africans or American Cichilds. Return the ones back and go from there. Knowing your pH will help determine what you want, or at least make your decision easier.
My p.h. is 8.0. and my water is very hard.

mgarza

Reaction score
My p.h. is 8.0 and my water is very hard.. I've had my blood parrot s for about 5 months and the rest if the group for about a month. I really like all of my fish so will getting another large tank and splitting them up work or is it gonna be more complex then that?

david1978