Dg With Possible Hith, Dropsy, Popeye, Dead...

1. Cheesewoman

Cheesewoman Member Member

This post is more just to make other people aware, as I had problems diagnosing the problem and by the time I did it was too late... (I am new to this though, still learning).

I have... or had 2 dwarf gourami, a male and female. They were both happy and healthy (breeding, eating, making bubble nests etc.) until about a week ago I noticed the male (Ray) had what looked like a little white bump on his head, it was very small and I just assumed he'd hit his head on something.

I monitored him closely, checked all my water levels and did regular water changes to make sure he was ok, and sure enough he carried on acting fine, until last night.

When I got home from work yesterday evening I noticed he didn't come to the front of the tank to greet me like he usually does, normally he's super hungry and pestering the female or tending to his nest - this time he was keeping himself at the back of the tank, alone, with his nose pointing down and very little interest, even when I waggled my finger in the water (to which all the other fish came over instantly).

This got me worried, so I took a closer look at him and was absolutely horrified by what I saw: the lesion on his head had gotten a lot bigger and looked white and a bit red, like it was infected. He'd also got other white marks around his head that looked like the same sort of thing as the one on the top of his head (I did look up HITH disease, still not sure if that's what it was), one of his eyes had swollen up (Popeye disease), and his abdomen had started to swell making his scales start to pinecone ever so slightly (Dropsy).