DG Bully

1. CarriePhLyons Initiate Member

Hi, I am completely new to both the forum and to tropical fish (although I have had coldwater for years).
    I have a heated BiOrb 30L with 2 DGs. However, the smallest of the 2 seems to have bullied the other into complete submission, to the extent where he is scared to emerge from his plants....

They have lots of hiding places, 5 plants etc...

Should I take one of them out?
    Do you have any helpful thoughts?

2. orbelina Member Member

I personally haven't had dg's but my friend has in a 180l tank and they could be bullies...so much so she returned them.. sorry to say but I just don't think 30l is going to be big enough I would get them out of there asap if you have other fish in with them...even if you don't I personally would separate them before you lose one of them

3. CarriePhLyons Initiate Member

At the moment they are the only fish in the tank! I will take one of them out and back to the pet shop I think... I am irritated that the pets@home people told me I needed to have 2 of them....

4. orbelina Member Member

Ahhh pets at home lol...take anything they say with a very large pinch of salt...nothing can beat doing a bit of research first...unfortunately of all the gouramis I have known about dg's tend to be the more aggressive, and they need far more space than 30l.
    If I was you I would take them both back and use the tank for some teeny nano fish in a nice little shoal...galaxy rasboras are really pretty and stay teeny...

5. orbelina Member Member

Or you could have a betta they are great little guys and actually prefer being their own.. I have two in seperate 35l tanks.
    They are total people fish and have great personalities :D

6. soltarianknight Fishlore VIP Member