Dental office fish tank

cosmic dust

Reaction score
Hi,
I love the site & it's been very useful, but I wondered if you could give me some more advice......
My husband recently graduated from dental school and is busy setting up his practice. I don't know if it's the Nemo movie or what, but people keep asking us if we have a fish tank for the waiting room yet!
So I finally relented and decided to give it a go (plus I'm allergic to cats & dogs & would really like a pet!)
I'm a total beginner at this so what would be your advice on a collection of bright, interesting, easy-to-take-care-of fish for the waiting room? How big a tank should I get? Should I have live plants? Snails? I'm definately going with the freshwater option.
Also, we live near Tyler Texas so if anyone could suggest a GOOD place to buy fish near there (I've been reading bad things about Walmart!) that would be great too.
Thank You!

Boxermom

Valued Member
Reaction score
Personally, I wouldn't recommend it. Not for a beginner fishkeeper. Most doctors' offices I've seen have tanks at least 55 gallons, but they take a good bit of knowledge and a great deal of care and I definitely wouldn't recommend one that big for a newbie.

If you are really set on getting one, I wouldn't recommend one larger than 38 gallons to begin with. That's a good size for a varied community but not overwhelming. You'll need the tank, stand, filter, lighting, gravel and heater to start. Also, read up on the main page here about fishless cycling. Or you can try to find some Biospira to cycle the tank with. Please don't use fish for cycling, its not humane. And don't let anyone convince you that any other product will help - Biospira is the only one that has the correct live bacteria and it must be kept refrigerated until use. None of the products in bottles on shelves will do anything but waste your money.