Deeply Confused By Sump. Please Help?

Discussion in 'Filters and Filtration' started by JulianBichir, Jun 16, 2019.

1. JulianBichirNew MemberMember

Hi!

I found a really good deal on a used 55 gallon TruVu with stand that was everything I wanted. It does, however, have an integrated/built-in sump, and I have absolutely no idea how to make it go. Can someone take pity on me and help me set it up for freshwater? Or link me to a good how-to video? I've attached pictures.

I have about 20 years experience with other kinds of filters, and nano to 200 gallon systems. I've just never seen a sump quite like this in person before and I don't know where all the bits go. Also, i anyone wants to weigh in on using the included bioballs vs matrix or lava rock, I'm all ears.

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 16, 2019
  2. PowerSetNew MemberMember

At the moment there appear to be problems with images, if you re upload the pictures as thumbnails they should show up for everyone.

3. coralbanditFishlore VIPMember

Wow nice set up !
    Just pretend the sump is a large HOB since it is all plumbed in already ..
    Mechanicals then bio ...
    No need for the bio balls in FW .
    I run all my tanks on just sponge for bio but what ever you want should be fine .
    Bio media is the biggest rippoff [almost[ in the fish industry ..
    My 180g has run on sponges for bio for last 10 years in its sump ….My clown loaches are 15+ years with me ...

4. NavyChief20Well Known MemberMember

Dont use the bio balls, get some lava rock instead. Bioballs and the like are garbage but chemistry wise you need biomedia in any aquarium.

5. CichlidudeWell Known MemberMember

Lava rock isn't that much better.

6. NavyChief20Well Known MemberMember

Cheaper than bioballs

7. CichlidudeWell Known MemberMember

Still garbage like you say. ;-)

8. Thedudeiam94Well Known MemberMember

He says “Uhhh” a lot in the video but hopefully this helps!