Deciding to get a 85g tank for my home Help 

drfishguy

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello, I'm new in this section since a long time ago when I had some gold fish as a kid. I have now decided to bring in my home a tank. haven't had a pet in a long time and decided to care for some fish. I have made some researc to see what fish will go with my personality and decided that only kind I can find locally that I like are Oscars and Arowanas. ive meassured the space I have and decide to get a 85g tank.
My questions are...
Can these kind live together?
and how many can live in harmony in this tank?

Sorry for my english, its my second language

Nitro Junkie

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Hey,

Your English is fine

85 gallons would be fine for a single Oscar,or maybe a pair of Oscars,depending on if they get along or not.They may fight.

Arowana need a much,much larger tank. They will need a 8x3 foot tank to house one for life.

drfishguy

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Nitro, thanks for the reply. Is there any other carnivorous breed as the last two I mentioned that may be more comon, to see if I can find any?

Nitro Junkie

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
There are lots of Cental American,and South American Cichlids that would work in 85 gallons.

Jaguar cichlids
Jack Dempsey cichlids
Midas cichlids
Trimac cichlids
Green Terror cichlids
Red Terror cichlids
Convict cichlids
SalvinI cichlid
Texas cichlid

Here are just a few of the more common ones.

If you google or search Cental American or South American Cichlids,you will find a lot more,and more specific care information on them.

kerisb

Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Hey drfishguy, how are ya?