Dealing/treating suspected Cotton Fin Fungus?

elBez

Hey all,

Tank newbie here.

Background:
We got a 20 gallon tank from PetSmart, some fish, and were kind of left on our own. Did some reading and research, and have spent the past month successfully cycling our tank. Numbers are all around 0, except for Nitrite, which is 0.5 ppm. Currently have three plants, one glowlight tetra, and two java loaches (they're in there somewhere!).

Last week:
We lost two glowlight tetras to what we think was cotton fin fungus. I did many searches online, and even spoke to a specialty store in the area. They recommend not to dose with an antibacterial product, as it would possibly ruin/reverse the cycle, continue our maintenance, euthanize if necessary, and not to add any more fish for at least two weeks. We've done so and unfortunately had to say goodbye to two fish.

Yesterday:
The remaining glowlight tetra appears to have cotton fin fungus too. A very, very light patch on the left-hand side of it's head, and the very tip of its nose is pale too. I've read through this thread on the topic, and am aware of medicines like Pimafix, or treatments like aquarium salt.

I am honestly looking for advice and would rather not have to euthanize the remaining tetra, or risk a spread to the java loaches. I know that aquarium salt can be harmful to loaches, so am very hesitant to use it. I also don't want to guess and use the wrong medicine and hurt the whole tank. If anyone has any recommendations, suggestions, or needs more information from me, please let me know and I will try to answer you as best as I can.

Rose of Sharon

Hi,

Sorry you are having these issues!!!

If you could set up something that can act like a hospital tank, you could try to medicate the tetra, if you want to try to save it.