Question Dead Ryukin Goldfish

Zai

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
We had a ryukin goldfish for all of a week (7 days) and woke up this morning to him dead.
He's in a 20 gal tank with 4 neon tetras and 2 Cory catfish and we were planning on moving him to his own bigger tank in 2 weeks. He was only a baby at about 2 inches long.

Yesterday he was acting fine, nothing suspicious going on. Eating normal. This morning he was dead. None of the other fish are dead or acting sick, though we are treating the tank for a fungus that the goldfish and 4 tetras have/had.

*Ammonia was 1ppm (I've already done a water change and added prime)
*Nitrites were at about .1 since it was between colors on my apI master kit chart
*Nitrates are at 20
* Ph is 7.2
*Temperature is 78

He ate a lot of sand so idk if that had anything to do with it

Aharkins

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I’m still new at all of this, but I am curious. How long has the tank been set up? Looking at your profile, I’m guessing the tank hasn’t fully cycled yet?

OP
Zai

Zai

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Aharkins said:
I’m still new at all of this, but I am curious. How long has the tank been set up? Looking at your profile, I’m guessing the tank hasn’t fully cycled yet?
It wasn't, I was doing an in fish cycle with TSS. I'd thought that was it but the levels weren't too terrible and everyone else is fine so I'm just boggled about what killed him

Aharkins

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
If he came from a chain store, he might have just been inbred or unhealthy from the start. I had a batch of guppies that all died within a week and just chalked it up to that. Or maybe your tank wasn’t ready for more additions, I’ve read with fish in cycles to try and keep it at 1, maybe 2 fish per 10 gallons.

OP
Zai

Zai

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Aharkins said: