Day 21 of Cycling New Tank

sofisk

Hi! I'm fairly new to this hobby and I have a few questions about cycling my tank but I want to give you a little background first so I'm sorry if this is a long post. My boyfriend and I have a 40 gallon breeder tank with a shallow bed of live sand, about 28 lbs of dry rock and a few pounds of live rock, a Fluval C4 power filter, a Hydor slI'm skI'm protein skimmer, a heater, a 1 gallon refugium (filled with rubble, live rock, and chaeto,) 2 powerheads (500gph), a thermometer, and a hydrometer. Initially this tank was supposed to be a birthday gift for my boyfriend and his birthday is next Wednesday (November 23rd) so we were hoping to at least have one fish in the tank by then. Today is day 21 of our cycle and we are using an API liquid saltwater master test kit.