Data Logging And Tank Tracking

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dagoothebetta, Jun 18, 2017.

1. dagoothebetta

dagoothebettaValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +57
    Experience:
    Just started
    I was curious if anyone keeps any sort of logs of tank parameters and the like. What else do you keep track of? I'm terrible about writing things down. I'd love to see the data people keep. I'm a software developer and have been messing around with Python and some graphing libraries and would love to get a hold of some long running logs to try and graph them and see what other kind of stuff I can do.

2. Hill Dweller

Hill DwellerWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +453
    Experience:
    1 year
    I've been writing down all my testing results and some of my med treatments and dates of adding some of my fish because my memory is dreadful and I'd be lost on detecting changes when I can't even remember breakfast never mind a test result from last week!

I downloaded the aquaPlanner app and had intended to use that for all my tracking but I just haven't had the time to set it all up yet.

My nerd side does love a good graph so I'd love to follow anything you come up with :)

3. BHK3

BHK3Well Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +696
    Experience:
    2 years
    I was wondering if there was any good app or program to track them too. I've just been putting them in a basic spreadsheet. I have a drop-down showing what type of test it is (tap water, before water change, after water change, etc), the date, and then the type of result (PH, GH, nitrates, etc).

4. dartzy

dartzyValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +74
    This is a rough calender I made using Excel. I've not finished tweaking it but it shows the general idea. Sorry if pic is blurry. 452f5b45f034c8f76d101da28aab60d5.

5. OP
    OP
    dagoothebetta

dagoothebettaValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +57
    Experience:
    Just started