Daniellee's cycling journey

daniellee

Just decided to make a new thread specifically for the cycle on my new 5.5 gallon tank. I'm just learning the cycling process and would appreciate any advice regarding my cycle. I am using the API Freshwater Master Test Kit and I am adding the time stamp on when the readings were taken for my own knowledge.

My 5.5 gallon has one Male Betta in it, his name is Apollo. I keep the tank at a constant 79 degrees with a Zacro 50W heater and am using a Marina PowerSlI'm S15 filter.
edit: as of 10/5 I now also have a golden mystery snail

9/29
pH 7.6
High pH 7.8
Ammonia 0.25 (filter was only in 5 hours of the day since I just got it)
Nitrite 0 ppm
Nitrate 0 ppm

9/30 Started cycling with TSS+
11 am
pH 7.8
Ammonia 0.25
Nitrite 0 ppm
Nitrate 0 ppm

10/1
11 am
pH 7.8
Ammonia 0.50
Nitrite 0ppm
Nitrate 0-5 ppm (definitely not 0 but not quite 5 either. It's a darker yellow).

10/2

11 am
pH 7.4
0.25 ppm
0 ppm
0 ppm

10/3
pH 7.4
Ammonia 0.25 ppm
Nitrite 0 ppm
Nitrate 0 ppm

10/4
11 am
pH 7.4
Ammonia 0.25 ppm
Nitrite 0.50 ppm
Nitrate 0 ppm

10/5
11 am
pH 7.4
Ammonia 0.25 ppm
Nitrite 0 ppm
Nitrate 0 ppm

10/6
9 am
pH 7.4
Ammonia 0.25ppm
Nitrite 0 ppm
Nitrate 0 ppm

10/9
6 pm
pH 7.4
Ammonia 0.25 ppm
Nitrite 0 ppm
Nitrate 5 ppm

10/10
10 am
pH 7.4
Ammonia 0.25 ppm
Nitrite 0 ppm
Nitrate 5 ppm

tagging @CindiL because she was helping me in a previous thread thanks again

Here is the picture of his tank, he's hiding somewhere in the back. The placemat in the back helps with the vibration caused by the filter.

image.jpg

CindiL

Fishlore Legend
Looks good

TSS+ bacteria is housed in an ammonium solution so probably why you see that rise today. I would not expect to see it go higher than 1.0.

They tell you not to test and just do nothing but water topoffs for two weeks but if you're more comfortable testing that's ok, I think everything will go fine, TSS+ is a great bacterial product.