damsels acting weird

1. amandamechelle Initiate Member

I have had my 28 gal tank for around a month. (It is a nano and came with the lights, filters, etc) It has about 8 lbs of live rock, snails, hermit crabs, a 3 striped damsel and a blue damsel. Everything has pretty much been o.k. up to this point. All of the parameters of the tank are where they should be. The 2 fish usually keep to themselves. This morning they both went to the same spot in the tank at the bottom. neither of these fish have ever stayed at the bottom of the tank. Neither one of them ate the flakes that I put in. Tonight the blue damsel finally did move from where the 2 fish were at, but she scooted across the live sand and shells in the tank. she never came up from the bottom. She is now back to the spot with the other damsel which is completely on the opposite side from where she usually stays. She also looks a little bloated. Anyone know what is going on? I am new at this fish business & I may be over-reacting, but I want to make sure everything is o.k.

2. amandamechelle Initiate Member

well I guess nevermind this post...the fish have now died. I have no idea what happened.

3. Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Hello Amanda.

Sorry to hear about your fish loss. Hopefully some of the salt members will chime in today and try to help you figure it out.
    Welcome to Fish Lore....I wish it were under better circumstances. :(
    Ken

4. Shock Member Member

Hi, sorry to hear about your loss. Do you know by any chance the parameters of your water? Ammonia or Nitrites might have been too high. Also, how did you cycle your tank? I noticed that your aquarium info shows you don't know about the Nitrogen Cycle.

5. amandamechelle Initiate Member