Dad Thinking Aquarium for Young Daughter

ByMyBeard

Hello everyone. I'm a Dad considering a beginner aquarium for my 7 year old as a gift. Obviously, I know I will be helping with this endeavor. I had a 10 gallon when I was in middle school/high school, but lost interest in it eventually as going out with friends became more interesting to me. I initially was considering something like a nano tank, but after some initial research it appears that maybe going back towards a 10 gallon will be an easier route.
Anyway, still a lot of time to research (and convince the wife). I really didn't know what I was doing in my younger days, and had just inherited the aquarium I had. Trying to be a bit smarter about it this go around. So please excuse my ignorant questions. Thanks in advance for any help you will provide.

Cue

Welcome welcome!

I actually got into the hobby because my dad kept cichlids years before I was born!

Do a ton of research/ask questions on the nitrogen cycle, it’s the base and lifeline of any tank. Get an API masterkit for water testing, not test strips which are inaccurate. Never trust the fishstores, always double check everything they say. If you can, think about starting with a larger tank like a 30 or 55, you will have more options and it’s easier to maintain stable parameters. 50% water changes every week.

fair warning: if you learn to love this hobby you’ll probably never leave :D (of course breaks and burnout are all valid too, just take care of your animals :) )

StarGirl

Welcome to Fishlore! :) There are no dumb questions around here. Someone is always willing to help out. Ask away. I agree to research the nitrogen cycle first and foremost.

CMT

Aquariums are a great way to introduce kids to pet ownership, responsibility, science, etc. Just know that even if it's her aquarium it's actually your aquarium and you are responsible for it. It's too much for a 7 year old.